Anthropomorphism

Last year I was driving along when I spotted a young deer (either a doe or a re, but not a me, because I was the me) standing on the side of the road.  I stopped my car, because I wasn’t sure if it would bound out in front of me.  It looked at me and I looked at it, for a few seconds.  Finally, I gave it the “go ahead and cross” courtesy wave.   I thought “Idiot!  The deer doesn’t know what that wave means!”

Nevertheless, the deer slowly crossed the road, like it understood exactly what I meant.  Now I think I’m a deer whisperer.  Or possibly an idiot, as I first thought.

Leave a Reply

